my travels around Thailand and Asia

A Joyride to Pak Meng

I woke up early Sunday morning and realized I didn’t have anything to do. I got on the text to my mate Eugene and implied another biking trip. “Lets do a little exploring” I thought. I immediately received a phone call saying he was game.

“Breakfast and a shower, meet you at the gas station in 30min”.
“Sweet!”

A quick fry up (eggs and toast) filled me up nicely. I jumped in the shower, packed my dry bag (snorkels, towel and sunscreen) and off I went. We got the bikes topped up and a plan together. Pak Meng, Trang seemed like a good option for the day. It was very hot and we needed some ocean time.

“Do we know where we are going?”
“Not really, but I remember seeing signs to Pak Meng on our last Lanta trip.”
“Okay, lets hit the 403 (the highway to Trang) and take it from there.”
“Sounds good to me.”

Two hours later we arrived in Pak Meng. We ended up taking the 403 from Thung Song to Huai Yot, turned right onto Highway 4, which takes you to Koh Lanta and Krabi and then another left onto the 4159, and followed the signs until we reached sunny Pak Meng. We parked the bikes, had a quick walk on the beach and then swiftly decided we needed food and a beer. We managed to find a simple restaurant, that had tables on the beach, sat down, put our feet into the sand, ordered some calamari and our favorite ‘Leo” beer and took in the beauty.

From Pak Meng you can actually see two of the Trang Islands. One being Koh Mook and the other Koh Ngai. Koh Kradan is out of sight behind Koh Mook, so no views from Pak Meng beach. Getting to the islands seems like a pretty easy affair. There is a long tail service on Pak Meng that will take you to your island of choice. They also offer boat tours around all the islands and even a bbq option. From what I gathered, you go fishing, hopefully catch some fish and then bbq everything on the boat or on an Island of your choice. Got me interested! If long tails are not your thing, the Pak Meng pier has bigger boats that come in at specified times and transport tourists to all the islands.

I think it’s called Koh Cheuk, but not sure on that one.

pak meng has an enormous beach. it must run for 5 or 10 km

just in case!

tables on the beach. perfect!

koh mook in the distance

After our snack, we did a little exploring. There is a national park called Chao Mai National Park, which I have actually been to before when I did a summer camp last near February. There are facilities to camp, if you like being outdoors, or guesthouses for those of you who are not so fond of sleeping in a tent. The entrance is 200 baht and it’s definitely worth a visit. We also had a look at the Pak Meng pier, where you can catch ferries to all the islands. There are many different companies offering all sorts of things. There is diving, boat tours, kayaks and a variety of water sports.

While driving around we found some quiet spots to make our camp for the day. Hungry as always, we went and got some street food (fried fish and som tam), made our way back to the beach and spent an hour swimming and hanging out.

the pak meng pier where you can get ferries to Koh Mook, Koh Ngai and Koh Kradan

found a shady spot under the trees to make home base

som tam (spicy papaya salad), kao niao (sticky rice) and some pla tord (fried fish) for lunch

we saw these two Thai guys in the water for a long time. we think they were catching prawn or setting up traps for bigger things like crabs or crayfish.

10 responses

  1. Awesome, what a great way to spend a day. Cool video too.

    March 8, 2012 at 10:14 am

  2. Thanks dude. Always appreciate your comments. When you coming to visit?

    March 9, 2012 at 2:53 am

    • If you keep posting stuff like this and I may be there sooner than you think. Seriously though, would love to come visit but not sure if I’ll be able to afford much travelling this year but it’s on my list.

      March 9, 2012 at 7:13 pm

  3. What a fun life you live!

    March 10, 2012 at 3:00 pm

    • Thanks for reading. It has a been an exciting year in Thailand as I have been fortunate to travel a lot more than in the past. This country has so much to offer and I haven’t even touched the surface yet. I would recommend it to all travelers deciding on a holiday destination.

      March 12, 2012 at 11:00 am

  4. Pingback: Socializing with the Students | [and] i'm [STILL] having the THAIme of my life!

  5. Lindsey Roberts

    Whats the name of the song in the video!?

    March 13, 2012 at 11:12 pm

    • It’s Tv on the radio – Wolf like me.

      March 13, 2012 at 11:56 pm

  6. Pingback: Weekend in Pak Meng | [and] i'm [STILL] having the THAIme of my life!

  7. Pingback: Camping in Pak Meng « Lost Bearings

Leave a Reply

