my travels around Thailand and Asia

You can’t evade this Roulade

We recently had a lovely barbecue at our friends Scotts house. I’m not really sure what the occasion was, but I think it was a pre party for Bills (another ‘farang’ Thung Songian) birthday. Thung Song is a small place and sometimes there’s not much to do, so when someone offers a venue for a bbq we all do handstands and jump for joy. This session can last for 10 minutes sometimes. It doesn’t even matter where you are. If you hear the good news while you are teaching, this doesn’t stop you, if you are having a haircut, shopping, or playing the guitar, the outcome is the same. LOL! Maybe this only happens in my mind, but I’m sure everyone has the same feelings of happiness.

Scott had said that all the meat and fish would be supplied and we should just bring ourselves and our beverage of choice. I did hear margaritas were being made which made a lot of people really happy! Then Henk (my South African nemesis) told me he was going to be making his famous potato salad, so I felt a contribution from my side was surely needed. “How about a loaf of some delicious homemade bread” I thought to myself. It would be the perfect addition to the barbecue. “What to bake though?” Keep it simple or go all in and try something different.

I had started making a basil and oregano loaf, when an idea (to try something new and different) dawned on me. This hardly ever happens by the way! I have attempted focaccia before and really loved it. Why not add a spin to that by using the same ingredients, maybe different ingredients inside the bread instead of on top of it. YES! This would be my ultimate offering to the good peeps at the party. I’m sure Thung Song has never seen bread like this before. I will say, this type of bread has obviously been around for ages and you can find many recipes online with different ingredients, so I can’t take any credit for coming up with this one. I do like to tell myself things like that sometimes, just for a little bit of a laugh. The loaf is called a ‘roulade‘ and can be made using savory or sweet ingredients. I think it’s a French word that means to roll. I choose to go the savory route with tomatoes, mushrooms, onions, cheese and yogurt. My mouth waters every time I think about it! Anyways, I ended up making both loaves, one reason being, I had already started the basil loaf and the other, if the roulade was a flop, I always had the basil loaf to fall back on. Well, let me tell you, both loaves came out perfectly for a change, so this little experiment was a success.

Mushroom, tomato and basil roulade topped with chia seeds

What you need for the dough: 2/3 cup milk, 2 eggs (1 slightly beaten and the other separated into the white and yolk), 3 tbsp olive oil, 2 tsp yeast, 2 tbs salt, 1tsp sugar, 3 cups flour, a handful of chia seeds (you can also use poppy, sesame or flax)

What you need for the filling: a cup of tomatoes, two small onion, a cup of mushrooms, a handful of fresh basil, a cup of cheese, a cup of plain yogurt, oregano, a cup of basil, salt and pepper.

heat 2/3 cup of milk, add yeast, and leave for ten minutes. if there are no bubbles after 10 minutes your yeast is dead

mix in the beaten egg, the egg yolk, the olive oil, salt and sugar

mix in the flour and hopefully you will get something like this. knead the dough for six or seven minutes on a floured surface

put the dough in an oiled bowl and let it rise for 45 minutes in a warm place

this is what it should look like after 45 minutes.

flatten the dough into a rectangular shape and transfer to a well oiled baking tray

cover and let rise for another 30 minutes

the filling consists of cherry tomatoes, mushroom, onions, basil, plain yogurt (greek if you have) and mozzarella cheese

chop everything up and get ready to saute

a few droplets of olive oil and we are ready to go

saute the tomatoes with oregano (you can use thyme as well.) another option is to roast them in the oven for 30 minutes with a drizzle of olive oil and a pinch of basil or thyme. use your creativity. the options are limitless.

next up the onions, mushrooms and basil. saute the onions for 5 minutes until nice and soft, add the mushrooms and cook for a further 5 minutes. finally cook the basil for a few minutes until the basil is all shriveled.

spread the yogurt over the puffy dough. try and cover the whole area.

sprinkle the cheese over the yogurt

layer the tomatoes and the onion, mushroom and basil mix over the cheese

roll the dough and flip it, so the seam side is facing down. do this so it doesn't explode while baking

cover with a cloth and let rise for another 30 minutes

take some egg white, brush the roll and sprinkle the chia seeds (you can use poppy, sesame or any other seed that you might like)

pop into the oven at 220 for 10 minutes, then 180 for another 25 minutes and it should be perfect

all done and ready to eat

there she is. the finished product. I must say it was really tasty and had great texture too

mmmmmmmmmmmm! delightful. now its time to tuck in

2 responses

  1. i can attest to the greatness!

    February 23, 2012 at 7:03 am

    • it was especially good with eggs in the morning!

      February 23, 2012 at 8:38 am

Leave a Reply

