my travels around Thailand and Asia

Introduction to Thung Song

Hey friends, this is now my second post, but the funny thing is, over a year has passed between the two posts. A lot has happened in this time, but I’m not going to dwell on it, rather I’m going to focus on what’s happening now in my life. I have been lazy and unmotivated to write about my travels, but I think now it’s time and I’m finally ready to give it a proper go. I am currently teaching in Thailand with my girlfriend Angela and we have just started a new contract with a school in Thung Song.

Thung Song (Thai: ทุ่งสง) is a district (Amphoe) in the southwestern part of Nakhon Si Thammarat, southern Thailand.

Southern Thailand

Thong Song is surrounded by beautiful mountain ranges and waterfalls. The waterfalls are amazing and are a good place to go relax and get away from all the hustle and bustle of city life. When saying that, Thung Song is more like a small town, population 30,000, but there is still traffic and pollution and sometimes you just need to get into nature.

There are two waterfalls that are very close to the town center, around 10 or 20 minutes on a scooter and at least another 5 in the area that I know of. Namtok (waterfall in Thai) Yong is the closest, but most commercial and often busier than the other waterfalls. If  you are foreign you can expect to pay 200 baht to enter this waterfall. If you have a work permit (I have one) or are Thai (I am not one) you only pay 20baht. I don’t really spend much time at Yong as I feel waterfalls are meant to be appreciated with solitude and that they should have a meditative effect on the mind. I go there to forget, clear my mind and appreciate the silence.

Yong waterfall

A swim in the fresh crisp water can wipe your body of all negativity and I often feel a burst of energy running through my veins. The power of the falling water on my body cleanses my mind of all stress and It’s an awesome release from life. With the masses of people visiting Yong daily and the entrance fee  you can’t really appreciate the waterfall for its therapeutic effects.

However a bit further out is Namtok Plio, (also Pleu, Plew), we have actually seen it written three different ways. This is because there is no uniform system that has been devised in the our alphabet to represent the Thai phonics. This is different to what we experienced in China where chairman Mao’s government created the system of pinyin to help improve literacy. Pinyin is the official system to transcribe chinese characters into the roman alphabet.

Plio waterfall is about 20 minutes on the scooter, but worth the extra milage. The road is a little worn and rough, but when you get there you’ll be overjoyed you made the decision. There are hardly any people and it won’t cost a cent to get in, so you have all the beauty to yourself. At this point no one can disturb your feeling of connectedness with the planet. There are 5 levels you can hike to at Plio, so it really caters to everyone’s needs. Because no one really knows about this waterfall the paths up to the different levels have become overgrown and sometimes difficult to pass, however with persistence no path is impassible and upon reaching levels 4 and 5 the views become breathtaking.

Different levels at Plew

Level 4

'infinity pool' at Plew

Klong Chang Waterfall

This one has no name

I have grown to love Thung Song for its simplicity and friendly smiles. I was very happy when I decided to stay another year in this picturesque area and explore deeper into the unknown.

8 responses

  1. nice blog, love 🙂

    November 9, 2011 at 4:25 am

  2. What an awesome place and it look like you are enjoying it.

    November 10, 2011 at 5:42 am

  3. Robert

    I live in a small village 20 min East of Thung Song called Khao khow. I would love to chat with you, if you are interested. There are very few who speak English here.

    January 1, 2013 at 5:47 am

    • Atipong

      Hello I am Thai who live in Thung Song
      My facebook Thungsong Foreigner

      March 3, 2014 at 1:31 pm

  4. Koen

    It is a nice town. We , my wife had a house there.

    June 28, 2013 at 11:53 pm

  5. Koen

    whe are there on 7 or8 july. Its a new house whit downstairs a supermarket en internet place , 2km from railwaysstation

    June 28, 2013 at 11:59 pm

  6. laurence

    hello i will work as a teacher in thung son in may.i would like to meet some foreigners who live nearby.my name is laurence

    February 12, 2014 at 8:18 am

  7. This is a really nice bit of information about the area. I went there on Monday for an interview at a school. My sons and I live in Khanom and have been feeling down about leaving but Thungsong looks really beautiful and it is time for us to enjoy nature’s bounty inland now. We’ve been at the sea for a couple of years.

    April 2, 2014 at 12:28 pm

Leave a Reply

