my travels around Thailand and Asia

Into the Unknown

Hi everyone. Wow! I finally have a blog. It’s a good feeling. After many years of procrastination the dream is finally a reality. Another dream is also on the horizon. I’m about to embark on a magical odyssey across some of Asia. I will be traveling with my girlfriend, Angela and a good friend of hers, Laura.

Here’s a breakdown of what I will be doing over the next few months. I have been in China for nearly a year now, teaching English, who would have thought. It has been an interesting year and I’ve learned a lot about myself. I have made some great friends and met a lovely lady. Some might say this was impossible, but here I am and It’s all true. You have my word, if that means anything these days. I have two weeks left and then I’m off on a spiritual journey across the globe, well not really across it, but I’m going to be visiting a few places.

I start my journey in Kunming, China, where I will hike Tiger Leaping Gorge. Tiger Leaping Gorge is a contender for the world’s deepest river canyon. Legend says that in order to escape from a hunter, a tiger jumped across the river at the narrowest point (still 25 metres wide), and this is where the name comes from. I will be travelling with an Irishman and a Scottish lass, so it should be entertaining. I spend 5 days trekking the dangerous terrain where many a man has lost his life. No no no. Just kidding. They say the hike is challenging but nothing to be worried about.

From there I fly into Kathmandu, Nepal, where I will meet up with my beautiful girlfriend, Angela and her good friend, Laura and do some adventure activities. We’re thinking about some bungee jumping as well as white water rafting before embarking on the mother of all hikes. We will endure a 8 day hike, until we reach the mighty of mountains, Mount Everest. Everest is the world’s highest mountain above sea level at 8,848 metres (29,029 ft). It is located in the Himalayas in Asia. I will only be doing base camp( 17000 ft.), so don’t praise me too much. Haha. It should be something that will change my life forever. Let’s hope for the better. Once you’re up there, you got to get back down, so another 6 or 7 days decent. After the gruelling 15 day hike, I will jet off to India, where I will stay at a yoga ashram for 10 days.

The ashram is situated in Kodaikanal and is hidden away in the remote mountains of this area. If all goes well, I will discover true enlightenment and spiritual healing and become the person I was always destined to be, well, this is what I’m hoping for. I then spend another 20 days traveling across magical India, before heading off to Thailand, where I will chill out and relax for a couple weeks. Hopefully I will be meeting up with my mom and sister and another old friend of mine, so I’m really excited.

I  will keep you all updated along the way.Thanks for being a part of my life. I cherish every moment spent with all of you.

So the travels happened but the blogging didn’t. To make up for it some photo’s might miraculously appear. Hope you enjoy!

view from monkey temple in kathmandu

kathmandu

singing bowl meditation

landscapes of nepal

pokhara

paragliders in pokhara

the big wait (3 days at the airport)

our plane finally ready to go

lukla airport (it has been called the most dangerous in the world)

ready for the hike

rinji (our porter)

phemba (our guide)

'stupa' buddhist religious monument

what a view

the big walk

a kiss in the mountains

khumbu glacier

old everest base camp

the team (laura, angela and wayne)

one of those is mount everest

‘The Universe favors the brave. When you resolve to lift your life to its highest level, the strength of your soul will guide you to a magical place with magnificent treasures’.



One response

  1. Your NOT Friend

    You’re an asshole.
    Angela’s good friend?
    Why can’t we be good friends?!

    See you soon, jerk.

    October 3, 2010 at 11:36 am

Leave a Reply

